Game creators can quickly share purchased Compendium content with their players. Sharing books in this way improves utilization of Compendium content in tools like the Charactermancer as well.
You can check out this segment from our video tutorial on how to use content sharing with your players!
Based on your subscription level, you can share your purchased compendiums with players in games that you have created. To share a compendium, your name must have the "Creator" tag next to it.
How do I enable Compendium Sharing?
To turn on Compendium Sharing for a game, open the game and click the "Settings" button from the game details page.
- From the drop-down, select "Game Settings."
- Scroll down to the option marked "Share my compendium with players?" Select "Yes."
- Below the sharing option, you can see how many game slots you have available, as well as how many players are in your current game. You can remove compendium access from a game by clicking the "X" next to the game's name, if you need to free up storage space.
- After you select "Yes," be sure to scroll down to the bottom and click "Save Changes."
What are the limitations of Compendium Sharing?
To safeguard licensed content from unauthorized exploitation, the following restrictions have been established for this feature:
- Free Users may purchase any compendium. They may only share their purchased compendiums with one active game that contains no more than themselves plus 5 players (6 total).
- Plus Subscribers may purchase any compendium. They may share their purchased compendiums with three active games that contain no more than themselves plus 10 players each (11 total per game).
- Pro Subscribers may purchase any compendium. They may share their purchased compendiums with five active games that contain no more than themselves plus 15 players each (16 total per game).
(no. of games / no. of players per game)
Note: You can only share all or none of your compendiums. If you own multiple compendiums, you cannot pick and choose which ones to share with which players.
What happens if I go over my limit?
Once your game exceeds the maximum number of players, compendium sharing will be disabled and you will get a warning message that the feature has been disabled for this game. You can use the "Kick from Game" feature to remove inactive players from your game or upgrade your subscription if you need more players to have access to your compendium.
The limit applies regardless of whether the players themselves own the compendiums you wish to share. Players who have purchased the compendium will still be able to access it as normal for themselves, but other players won't be able to access the shared compendium in a game they did not create.